Connect with us


States Won By Different Political Parties So Far In Nigeria



The Independent National Commission (INEC), have announced the gubernatorial election results of many states, and although not all of them have been published, we would be looking at the states that have been published and the states won by political parties so far.

Photo Credit: Punch Newspaper

Going with the results that were declared on Monday night at about 10:00 pm, we can see that the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), has won the governorship position of 15 states, which include Sokoto, Katsina, Jigawa, Gombe, Lagos, Kwara, Niger, Yobe, Nasarawa, Cross-River, Ebonyi, Ogun, Benue, Kaduna and Borno.

More so, the next political party is the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), has won six states so far, and they include Plateau, Bauchi, Oyo, Delta, Rivers and Akwa Ibom states, while the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) had emerged victorious in Kano.

Meanwhile, the gubernatorial results of the election in Abia and Enugu States were delayed following the dispute between the Labour Party and the PDP over the results from some local government areas, and the commission suspended further collation of the governorship election results pending a review of the process of the contentious balloting in parts of the two states.

This gubernatorial election is one of a kind in the history of Nigeria, as many Nigerians had taken to the polls on Saturday to cast their votes in order to express their decision to elect a candidate that would represent them as a governor and a member of the State House of Assembly.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: